Category

الحماية

أهمية المراكز الصديقة للطفل

By | أخر الأخبار, الحماية

تعدّ المساحات الصديقة للطفل البيئة الآمنة لدعم حقوق الطفل ورفاهيته في ظل الظروف الطارئة، تقوم مؤسسة إحسان من خلال قطاع الحماية بتقديم الحماية للأطفال عبر تزويدهم بمساحة آمنة يمكنهم من خلالها المشاركة بأنشطة منظّمة للّعب والتأقلم والتعبير عن أنفسهم، كما تقوم المساحة الآمنة برفع التوعية حول المخاطر التي يتعرض لها الأطفال، بالإضافة إلى حشد الطاقات المجتمعية للبدء بعملية توفير بيئة صحيّة ومحميّة للأطفال، وتقديم معلومات عن الخدمات وأشكال الدعم المختلفة المتوفرة في المنطقة.

الأطفال في ظل الحرب في سوريا

تعرّض الكثير من الأطفال لأنواع مختلفة من العنف والاستغلال في ظل الحرب، إضافة لضعف الإمكانات التي تساعد في توفير بيئة آمنة وداعمة وخدمية للأطفال، عدا عن الجهل الكبير بحقوق الأطفال وأشكال الإساءة التي يتعرضون لها بشكل يومي من قبل المجتمع، الأهل، أو حتى القرناء.

بعد 10 سنوات من الصراع في سوريا، وبحسب التقرير الصادر عن UNICEF فإن %90  من الأطفال بحاجة إلى دعم، لأن الحرب والأزمة الاقتصادية ووباء كورونا كل ذلك يدفع الأسر إلى حافة الهاوية.

 تقوم برامج حماية الطفل بتوفير بيئة داعمة غنية بالأنشطة والخدمات التي تساعد في رفع مستوى الرفاه النفسي للأطفال، حيث تؤمن لهم خدمات إدارة الحالة الحاجات الأساسية التي تمنع الإساءة، العنف أو الاستغلال بكافة أشكاله، في حال غياب هذه الخدمات بشكل مجاني في المجتمع، إضافة إلى خدمات الدعم النفسي الاجتماعي التي تساعد في توفير بيئة صديقة للطفل ضمن المساحات المخصصة لهم وتعريفهم بحقوقهم وواجباتهم تجاه المجتمع.

أهمية المراكز الصديقة للطفل

هناك عدة أسباب تجعل من برنامج حماية الطفل خلال الأزمات أمراً بالغ الأهمية، حيث أن الأطفال هم المجموعات الأكثر ضعفاً، ويؤدي اعتمادهم على البالغين للحصول على الرعاية إلى ضعفهم وجعلهم عرضةً للمخاطر.

خلال حالات الطوارئ، تظهر عدة عوامل تجعل الأطفال أكثر عرضة للخطر، وهذا يتضمن عوامل النزوح والانفصال عن الأهل أو المجتمع، بالإضافة إلى فقدان أحد الأبوين أو فقدان شخص عزيز، وأيضاً فقدان المنزل والممتلكات، كل هذه العوامل من شأنها أن تهدد حياة الطفل، كما أن انخفاض مستوى الأمن والسلامة والاعتماد على المساعدات الإنسانية يعني أن الأطفال أصبحوا عرضة للعنف والاستغلال والإساءة، بالإضافة إلى أنواع مختلفة من الظلم، وسوء معاملة مقدمي الرعاية. بالتالي فإن ضعف خدمات حماية الطفل خلال الأزمات فيما يتعلق بأمور الأمن والعدالة والخدمات الاجتماعية قد تؤدي إلى خلق بيئة مليئة بالانتهاكات في حق الأطفال.

ماذا فعلنا؟

عملت مؤسسة إحسان للإغاثة والتنمية من خلال مراكزها الصديقة للطفل على تقديم كافة الأنشطة التي يمكنها تأمين حياة أفضل للأطفال، بالإضافة إلى الفرق الجوالة والاستجابة الطارئة، لتحقيق أكبر وصول لمساعدة الأفراد المتضررين. كان ذلك في عدة مناطق جغرافية في سوريا، في كلٍ من ريف دمشق وحمص وريفها، وريف درعا في 2016، وبعد ذلك تم تركيز نقاط العمل في شمال غربي سوريا، بسبب النزوح في 2018. حيث منذ 2016 تم افتتاح 9 مراكز دعم للشباب واليافعين، و27 مركز صديق الطفل، وأكثر من 40 فريق جوال، وتم تقديم خدمات من خلالهم إلى أكثر من  328 ألف  طفل وطفلة، وخدمات إدارة الحالة إلى 4,600  طفل  وطفلة، وأكثر من 5,700 من مقدمي الرعاية.

ووفقاً لتجربة مؤسسة إحسان للإغاثة والتنمية، فإن أنشطة حماية الطفل تترك أثراً إيجابياً في المجتمع، حيث أن تلك الأنشطة مُعَدّة لاستهداف كافة أفراد المجتمع (الأطفال – مقدمي الرعاية – أفراد المجتمع)، حيث تقع مسؤولية حماية الطفل من كافة أنواع الانتهاكات على تلك المجموعات.

 

المراكز المجتمعية ودورها في تمكين أهالي الشمال السوري

By | أخر الأخبار, الأخبار, الحماية
تهدف المراكز المجتمعية إلى تمكين النازحين والمجتمعات المضيفة وتعزيز مشاركتهم في اتخاذ القرارات التي تؤثر على حياتهم بشكل أفضل، من خلال تحديد الاحتياجات والإمكانيات المتوفرة لإيجاد الحلول العملية وتنفيذها.
ضمن مشروع الحماية في مؤسسة إحسان يعمل مركز قباسين المجتمعي في منطقة الباب على تقديم خدمات الحماية المتخصصة وغير المتخصصة للأفراد والتي تشمل:
١- دعم المبادرات المجتمعية وهياكل الحماية المجتمعية.
٢- جلسات دعم نفسي وخدمات إدارة الحالة والعنف القائم على النوع الاجتماعي
٣- تقديم جلسات التوعية القانونية والمساعدة القانونية والاستشارات.
كما يساهم المشروع في تحديد الاحتياجات الهامة للحالات الإنسانية ضمن برنامج الحماية ويعزيز آليات حماية
المجتمع لأكثر من2900  مستفيد.
وتضمنت نشاطات المركز الأخيرة، تشكيل أربع لجان مجتمعية للذكور والإناث في مدينة قباسين والمخيمات المجاورة. حصلت هذه اللجان على مجموعة من التدريبات حول
حماية الطفل أثناء الأزمات من خلال:
• التعرف على مفاهيم «الطفل – حقوق الطفل – حماية الطفل»
• التعرف على مفهوم الأزمة وأثرها على الأطفال
• التعرف على ردود فعل الأطفال أثناء الأزمات
• التعرف على أشكال الإساءة المختلفة الموجهة للأطفال
• التعرف على سياسة صون الطفل ومدونة السلوك
• التعرف على مفاهيم أساسية لإدارة الحالة
• التعرف على مفهوم الضعف والهشاشة ومستويات المخاطر.
• التعرف على أنسب الإجراءات خلال عملية الإحالة.
وذاك لتحقيق الفائدة المرجوة من الفعاليات والأنشطة التي ستنفذها هذه اللجان في مجال حماية الطفل خلال المشروع.

كيف يقوم فريق التوعية القانونية في إحسان بمساعدة النازحين للحصول على الأوراق القانونية

By | أخر الأخبار, الحماية, قصص نجاح

تختلف قصص النازحين الفارين من مناطق الحرب في سوريا، لكنها تتشابه من حيث المعاناة، على الرغم من مرور سنوات على نزوحهم واستقرارهم في مناطق آمنة نسبياً يبقى عدد كبير من النازحين بدون أوراق ثبوتية إما بسبب ضياعها أثناء النزوح أو لأنهم لا يعرفون كيفية استخراج أوراق جديدة في الأماكن التي فروا إليها ، كحال حسين وعائلته التي استقرت في أحد المخيمات العشوائية في ريف حلب الشمالي بعد نزوحهم من السفيرة.
بدأت رحلة النزوح لعائلة حسين إلى مدينة الباب، لكن بسبب ارتفاع أجارات المنازل هناك وصعوبة إيجاد فرصة عمل مناسبة اضطر حسين إلى الانتقال مع عائلته إلى أحد مخيمات النازحين العشوائية بالقرب من مدينة الباب.
حسين متزوج منذ 6 سنوات ولديه طفلان، صبي بعمر 5 سنوات وفتاة بعمر 3 سنوات، ولكن لا يوجد لدى عائلة حسين أوراق ثبوتية تضمن لهم حقوقهم المدنية بعد استقرارهم في المكان الذي نزحوا إليه مما يسبب له العديد من المشاكل والتحديات.
يقول حسين: “بسبب عدم وجود أوراق قانونية فإنني أعاني عندما آخذ أطفالي إلى المراكز الطبية وعند التسجيل لدى المنظمات الإنسانية للحصول على المساعدات الإغاثية التي تحتاجها عائلتي، عدا عن صعوبة التنقل وتجاوز نقاط التفتيش الأمنية”.
فريق التوعية القانونية في مؤسسة إحسان في مدينة قباسين يقوم بتقديم عدة جلسات توعية للنازحين حول إجراءات تسجيل الزواج وتسجيل الولادات وأهمية استخراج الوثائق القانونية. التقى الفريق بحسين ومن خلال الحديث معه حول وضعه تبين أنه لا يملك أي وثائق قانونية أو ثبوتيات تسجيل الزواج.
أول ما قام به فريق التوعية القانونية هو مرافقة حسين وعائلته إلى أقرب مركز سجل مدني واستصدار وثائق تعريف، ثم بطاقة شخصية له ولزوجته، ثم تسجيل الزواج واستخراج بيان عائلي عوضا عن دفتر العائلة. وبعدها حصل على حقه القانوني كاملاً مما يسهل علية تسجيل أولاده في المدرسة والذهاب إلى المراكز الطبية والتسجيل على المساعدات الإغاثية وتسهيل التنقل والمرور على الحواجز الأمنية.
يقول حسين “الآن أصبحت أملك حقوقي القانونية وأشعر أني فرد في المجتمع”.

طفولة في مواجهة النزوح: كيف يقدم فريق الحماية الجوال المساعدة للأطفال النازحين

By | التعليم, أخر الأخبار, الحماية, قصص نجاح

قاسم الذي يبلغ من العمر 12 عاماً هو أكبر إخوته الخمسة. بسبب الحرب والقصف المستمر أجبرت عائلة قاسم على النزوح من منزلهم في محافظة حماه متوجهين إلى مكان أكثر أمناً في الشمال السوري حتى استقر بهم الحال في نهاية المطاف في مخيم للنازحين في منطقة حارم في محافظة إدلب.

تجربة النزوح القسري حرمت قاسم من مواصلة تعليمه والذهاب إلى المدرسة، ومن أصدقاء يلعب معهم. كثيراً ما يجلس قاسم وحيداً ليفكر في الملعب الذي اعتاد أن يقضي فيه معظم وقته، فيخبرنا قاسم بعباراته البسيطة: “اشتقت إلى مدرستي وإلى حقل أشجار الزيتون الذي تملكه عائلتي، اشتقت إلى منزلي.. اشتقت لكل شيء في بلدتي”، إلا أن الشعور بالوحدة هو ما كان يعاني منه قاسم أكثر من أي شيء آخر.

يحدثنا والد قاسم الذي تملكه شعور بالقلق تجاه ابنه البكر: ” لقد مرت عائلتي برحلة نزوح طويلة وقاسية، وأنا قلق على مستقبل أطفالي لبقائهم بدون مدرسة أو دراسة طوال هذه المدة”.

مشاعر الوحدة والحزن التي كانت تملأ قلب قاسم اختفت مع وصول فريق الحماية الجوال لمؤسسة إحسان إلى المخيم حيث أطلق الفريق سلسلة من الألعاب الجماعية. وبشكل مفاجئ انتشرت السعادة بين الأطفال، وبدأ قاسم هو وأخوته باللعب مع الأطفال الآخرين، لقد تناسوا محنة النزوح التي يعيشونها ولو لفترة وجيزة.

كما قام فريق الحماية الجوال في مؤسسة إحسان بدعم خيمة التعليم المؤقتة الموجودة في المخيم بالأدوات اللازمة من وسائل إيضاح كما قدموا للأطفال الكتب والحقائب والقرطاسية، قاسم وباقي أطفال المخيم عادوا مرة أخرى المدرسة ومتابعة التعليم.

يحلم قاسم بحياة أكثر استقراراً وبالعودة لأشجار الزيتون و منزلهم القديم و أن يكمل دراسته ليكون أستاذاً في مدرسة قريتهم.

بتمويل من صندوق الدعم الإنساني للأمم المتحدة تقوم مؤسسة إحسان بتنفيذ استجابة حماية طارئة للنازحين من خلال تقديم خدمات الفريق الجوال في الشمال الغربي من سوريا، وقد تمكننا من الوصول إلى نحو 50,000 مستفيد من النازحين بخدمات متنوعة من جلسات التوعية والدعم النفسي وإدارة الحالة والأنشطة الترفيهية للأطفال.

تعرف على حملة “16 يوماً من الأنشطة لمناهضة العنف القائم على النوع الاجتماعي”

By | أخر الأخبار, الحماية

ضمن مراكز إبداع المرأة التابعة لمؤسسة إحسان في الشمال السوري وعلى مدى 16 يوماً أقيمت نشاطات حملة “16 يوماً من الأنشطة لمناهضة العنف القائم على النوع الاجتماعي”

ما هي حملة 16 يوم ؟
حملة 16 يوماً من النشاط ضد العنف القائم على النوع الاجتماعي هي حملة دولية تجري في الفترة ما بين 25 تشرين الثاني بمناسبة اليوم الدولي لمناهضة العنف ضد النساء والفتيات ولغاية 10 كانون الأول – اليوم الدولي لحقوق الإنسان – للتأكيد من خلال ربط الذكرى السنوية للمناسبتين أن العنف ضد النساء والفتيات يشكل انتهاكاً لحقوق الإنسان.
وقد استخدمت حملة الأيام الـ 16 كاستراتيجية تنظيمية من جانب الأفراد والجماعات في جميع أنحاء العالم للدعوة إلى القضاء على جميع أشكال العنف ضد المرأة.

هذا العام قرر القائمون على حملة ٢٠١٨ إطلاق شعار “كلنا لنا دور” لتعكس دور كل شخص في الأسرة والمجتمع في محاربة العنف القائم على النوع الإجتماعي.
الهدف الرئيسي لحملة 16 يوماً من النشاط في ٢٠١٨ هو لرفع الوعي ونشر المعرفة حول العنف القائم على النوع الإجتماعي بين أعضاء المجتمع والعمال الإنسانيين وبشكل خاص حول الدور الإيجابي الذي يمكن أن يلعبه كل منا لجعل حياة النساء والفتيات أكثر أماناً.

ما هي النشاطات التي جرت خلال ١٦ يوم؟
– توزيع بروشورات للتوعية حول قضايا العنف ضد النساء والفتيات
– إقامة عروض ومسرحيات تهدف لرفع الوعي حول العواقب التي يخلفها العنف الأسري على جميع أفراد الأسرة.
– الترويج للحملة عبر الزيارات المنزلية من خلال تجهيز الهدايا التي تمت صناعتها في مراكز إبداع المرأة مرفقة برسالة حول العنف القائم على النوع الاجتماعي والهدف من حملة 16 يوم.
– فعالية يوم الأسرة: حيث افتتحت مراكز الحماية أبوابها أمام أفراد المجتمع والعائلات للقدوم وزيارة المركز وفهم المزيد حول العنف القائم على النوع الاجتماعي والحصول على فرصة للتفكير في طبيعة دورهم في إنهاء العنف القائم على النوع الاجتماعي.
– النشاطات الخارجية لزيارة أنشطة القطاعات الأخرى: حيث قامت الفرق الجوالة بزيارات أنشطة ومرافق القطاعات الأخرى المدارس والمراكز الصحية والمستشفيات ونقاط التوزيع والمساحات الصديقة للطفل والمراكز المجتمعية، واستعرضت موضوع وهدف حملة 16 يوم ونشر المعلومات المتعلقة بخيارات الإحالة

برنامج المهارات الوالدية في مركز إبداع المرأة

By | أخر الأخبار, الحماية, قصص نجاح

“بعد 5 سنوات من المعاناة مع طفلي بمشكلة التبول اللاإرادي ، فقدت الأمل واستسلمت كلياً لهذا الوضع واعتقدت أن المشكلة بطفلي وراثية”
انتصار أم لثلاثة أطفال تعيش مع زوجها وأطفالها في إحدى القرى القريبة من مدينة أرمناز.
سمعت انتصار عن مركز إبداع المرأة في أرمناز والتابع لمؤسسة إحسان والذي يقدم تدريبات عديدة في مجالات متنوعة، ورغم أنها تسكن قرية أخرى، قامت بزيارة المركز وتعرفت على برنامج المهارات الوالدية الذي يقدمه قسم الدعم النفسي ويتضمن مناقشة لمشكلات الأطفال.
“سجلت في القسم ولم أكن أعرف أنني في هذا المكان الرائع سوف أجد مفتاح مشكلتي، فبعد أن قدمت المدربة مشكلة التبول اللاإرادي قمت بتطبيق كل الخطوات التي أرشدتني اليها، عرفت أن هناك عدة أسباب للمشكلة منها النفسية والتربوية والاجتماعية والفيزيولوجية”
وبالفعل فقد تحسنت حالة طفلها بشكل ملحوظ بعد أن قامت انتصار باتباع النصائح التي تم الحديث عنها في التدريب.
” الأمر الذي ساعدني كثيراً هو أنني حللت أسباب المشكلة بأسلوب منطقي، وتكون لدي إصرار قوي على أن أساعد طفلي للتخلص من هذه المشكلة، والحمد لله فقد نجحنا أخيرا بمساعدة المدربة التي أعطت لمشكلتي اهتماماً كبيراً”.
في النهاية قامت انتصار بتوجيه رسالة إلى الأمهات السوريات:
“علينا نحن الأمهات ان نكون أقوياء وان نمتلك الإصرار لمواجهة مصاعب الحياة”

مركز دعم إبداع المرأة في الشمال السوري

By | أخر الأخبار, الحماية, المقاطع المصورة

“في البداية شعرنا بالخوف من فكرة ذهابنا إلى مركز دعم المرأة، ولكننا فيما بعد أصبحنا كعائلة واحدة في المركز … أنصح باقي النساء بالقدوم إلى المركز للاستفادة والتعلم” – إحدى المتدربات في صف الخياطة ضمن مركز دعم إبداع المرأة التابع لمؤسسة إحسان في بلدة صوران

فرق الحماية الجوالة في مؤسسة إحسان تقوم بالاستجابة للنازحين

By | أخر الأخبار, الحماية

التعرض للضغط النفسي لدى النازحين وخاصة الأطفال منهم قد يؤثر عليهم لبقية حياتهم.

ما الذي تقوم به إحسان حيال ذلك؟

في نقاط استقبال النازحين وفي المخيمات وخلال رحلة النزوح الطويلة فإن آلاف الأطفال يجدون أنفسهم في حالة من عدم الاستقرار أو أنهم محتجزين في مكان لا يعرفون إلى أين سيتجهون بعده وكيف ستكون المرحلة اللاحقة وما هو المصير المجهول الذي ينتظرهم، مما قد يؤثر على استقرارهم النفسي و تطورهم المستقبلي.

مؤسسة إحسان ومن خلال فرق الحماية الجوالة تساعد النازحين الأطفال منهم والبالغين في تجاوز محنة النزوح عن طريق تقديم خدمات الدعم النفسي وإدارة الحالات الحرجة وإقامة الأنشطة الترفيهية للأطفال بالإضافة إلى جلسات التوعية للأهالي والبالغين.

وعندما يشعر النازح بهذا الدعم فإن ذلك سيساعد في تجاوز الآثار السلبية المرافقة للضغط النفسي الذي تعيشه الأسر النازحة كظهور أنماط حياة غير صحية والسلوك العدائي وحالات نفسية سواء بسيطة أو متقدمة.

فرق الحماية الجوالة التابعة لمؤسسة إحسان استجابت لموجات النزوح الكبيرة التي وصلت إلى شمال سوريا في الآونة الأخيرة قادمة من مناطق الغوطة في ريف دمشق وريف حمص الشمالي. فبعد سنوات من الحصار وصلت أعداد كبيرة من النازحين في رحلة شاقة كان لها آثار عميقة على الأطفال والبالغين، الأمر الذي استدعى استجابة طارئة من قبل 7 فرق جوالة تقوم بتقديم نشاطات ترفيهية للأطفال بالإضافة إلى جلسات توعية للبالغين حول مواضيع حماية الطفل والعنف القائم على النوع الاجتماعي والتوعية من مخلفات الحرب، كما تقوم هذه الفرق بتقديم الإسعاف النفسي الأولي للنازحين فور قدومهم لتعريفهم بأماكن استقبالهم و خارطة الخدمات المتوفرة في المنطقة، وتوزيع سلال الكرامة على النساء واليافعات.

إلى جانب هذه النشاطات يقوم فريق الحماية في مؤسسة إحسان بتقديم خدمات الإحالة إلى مراكز الحماية الخاصة بالأطفال والنساء ضمن مؤسسة إحسان أو المراكز التابعة لمنظمات إنسانية أخرى حسب الحالة.

وبما أن خدمات الحماية للأطفال والنساء والفئات الأكثر ضعفاً عادة ما تكون مرتبطة بخدمات معيشية أخرى فإن مؤسسة إحسان تقوم بالتنسيق بين برامجها المتنوعة بهدف إدارة الحالات التي تحتاج إلى مساعدة خاصة وذلك من خلال الفرق الجوالة  التي تقوم بتقديم الدعم المباشر للحالات المهددة بالخطر والتي يتم اختيارها بحسب معايير الضعف المحددة في البرنامج.

وضمن حملة الاستجابة العاجلة للنازحين سيستفيد نحو 28875 شخص من الخدمات التي تقدمها فرق الحماية الجوالة لمؤسسة إحسان، من ضمنهم 20200 طفل.

ويقوم برنامج الحماية ضمن مؤسسة إحسان بتدريب أعضاء الفرق الجوالة ليكونوا على قدر المسؤولية في تقديم جودة عالية من الخدمات للمستفيدين، حيث جرت تدريبات متعددة لـ 53 فرد من أعضاء الفرق الجوالة على مواضيع متعددة في حماية الطفل والعنف القائم على النوع والتوعية من مخلفات الحرب وإدارة الحالة والأطفال المنفصلين.

وفي سياق تأهيل الكوادر على قضايا الحماية المختلفة، يجري تدريب 75 شخص من كوادر مؤسسة إحسان في قطاعات البرامج المختلفة على مبادئ الحماية والتعرف على الحالات التي تحتاج إلى تنسيق مع فريق إدارة الحالة.

افتتاح مركز دعم الشباب – جرابلس

By | الحماية, المقاطع المصورة
بهدف تمكين الشباب وتأهيلهم مهنياً واجتماعياً ليكونوا أفراداً مستقلين بذاتهم ومعتمدين على أنفسهم ومشاركين في بناء مجتمعاتهم، تم افتتاح مركز دعم الشباب في مدينة جرابلس بتمويل من مركز الملك سلمان للإغاثة والأعمال الإنسانية KSRelief

Category

Protection

The importance of child-friendly spaces

By | Latest News, Protection

Child-friendly spaces are a safe environment to support children’s rights and well-being under emergency circumstances. Through the Protection Sector IhsanRD provides protection to children by creating safe spaces through which they can participate in organized play, adaptation and self-expression activities. The safe spaces raise awareness about risks to children, mobilizes community capacity to begin the process of providing a healthy and safe environment for children, and provides information on the various services and support available in the region.

 

Children in the shadow of war in Syria

Many children are exposed to different types of violence and exploitation in the context of war. There’s also a lack of support and little effort to provide a safe, supportive, and service environment for children. There is also a lack of general knowledge regarding children’s rights and the types of abuse they are subject to in their communities on a daily basis by social norms, parents, or even peers.

 

According to a UNICEF report, after 10 years of conflict in Syria, 90% of children are in need of support. The war, economic crisis, and the Covid-19 pandemic are pushing families to the brink.

 

Child protection programs provide a supportive environment rich with activities and services that help increase children’s level of psychological well-being. Case management services provide them with basic needs that prevent abuse and violence or exploitation in all its forms. These types of services are free and otherwise unavailable in these communities. The safe places also provide psychosocial support services that help provide a child-friendly environment within designated spaces and inform children of their rights and duties towards society.

 

The importance of child-friendly spaces

There are several reasons why child protection programs in crisis conditions are critical. Children are the most vulnerable groups and their dependence on adults for care weakens them and makes them even more vulnerable.

Displacement, separation from parents or society, loss of a parent or loss of a loved one, as well as the loss of home and property all make children more vulnerable. All of these could threaten a child’s life. A lack of security, safety and reliance on humanitarian assistance means that children are vulnerable to violence, exploitation and abuse. This also makes them more vulnerable to various types of injustice and abuse by caregivers.

The lack of child protection services in crisis conditions including a lack of security, justice and social services may create an environment where children’s rights are violated.

 

What did we do?

Ihsan Relief and Development has worked to provide activities that can provide a better life for children through its child friendly safe spaces. IhsanRD also has mobile teams and emergency response teams to ensure greater access for affected individuals. IhsanRD has conducted these projects in several geographical areas of Syria, including the Damascus countryside, Homs and its countryside, and the Daraa countryside in 2016. Those projects were discontinued and relocated to northwestern Syria due to the mass displacement from southern Syria in 2018. Nine Youth Empowerment centers, 27 child-friendly centers and more than 40 mobile teams have been opened since then. Services have been provided to more than 328,000 children, case management services to 4,600 children and more than 5,700 caregivers.

 

IhsanRD’s experiences have led to the conclusion that child protection activities have a positive impact on society, as these activities are designed to target all members of the community (children, caregivers, community members). Each group of beneficiaries has a responsibility to protect children from all types of violations.

 

Today’s Robot Builder – Tomorrow’s Doctor

By | Education, Latest News, Protection

On the occasion of the United Nations International Day of Women and Girls in Science, Ihsan Relief and Development reaffirms its commitment and work towards gender equality  

 

Bana is a 12-year-old Syrian girl, originally from Aleppo city. The war has forced her family to move twice. Schools have often been closed due to COVID-19. “Like all girls in Syria, I live a difficult childhood”.

 

Bana misses playing with her friends at school and learning new things – “When I can attend school I behave politely and work hard because I want to be a doctor and help sick people”. One day, a friend told her about a Women and Girls Safe Space where they take care of girls and teach them useful skills. Bana visited the Safe Space with some of her sisters. “I started to attend a robot building course – the sessions were amazing and new goals were set for each time. My new friend and I were so impressed and excited when we were able to make the robot walk! The robot is good – it helps us to use our intellectual skills.”

 

“I like to learn to make my future bright. I hope that this war will end soon so I can return safely with my family to our home in Aleppo. I am sure this is the dream of every girl here.”

How the legal awareness team at IhsanRD helps IDPs to obtain legal documents

By | Latest News, Protection, Success Stories

There are many different stories of displaced people who flee the war zones in Syria, but they share the common issue of obtaining the legal documents.
Although years of displacement and stability in relatively safe areas, a large number of displaced people remain without legal documents either because of losing their property during displacement or because they do not know how to apply for new official documents in the places they fled to, such as the case of Hussein and his family, who settled in a random IDPs camp in the northern countryside of Aleppo after fleeing from their town in Sefirah.
The journey of Hussein’s family began in Al-Bab city, but due to the high rents of the houses there and the difficulty of finding a suitable job, Hussein was forced to move with his family to an IDPs camp near the city of Al-Bab.
Hussein is married for six years and has two children, a 5-years-old boy, and a 3-years-old girl, but Hussein’s family does not have any identity document that certifies their civil rights after settling in the place they have been displaced to, resulting in many problems and challenges.
“Because we don’t have legal documents, I suffer when I take my children to health centers, and when I register in humanitarian organizations to get the aid that my family needs; apart from the difficulty of moving and crossing security checkpoints,” Hussein said.
The Legal Awareness Team at IhsanRD in Qabbasien has provided awareness sessions for the displaced about registration procedures for marriage certificates, birth certificates and the importance of the legal documents. The group met with Hussein and helped him obtaining all legal documents missing.
The first thing that the legal awareness team did was to accompany Hussein and his family to the nearest civil registration center to have all identification documents for him and his wife, marriage certificate and a family record. After that, Hussein obtained his full legal rights, which makes it easier for him to enroll his children in school, go to the health centers, register for relief assistance, and facilitate movements and passing the security checkpoints.
“Now I have my legal rights, and feel I’m a member of the society” Hussein said.

Childhood faces displacement: How protection mobile teams help displaced children

By | Education, Latest News, Protection, Success Stories

Kasem, 12 years, the oldest of his five brothers. due to war and bombardment, Kasem and his family were forced to leave their home in Hama and headed to the north of Syria where it is a relatively safer place for them till they settled in an IDPs camp in Harim Sub District, Idleb.

The experience of forced displacement made Kasem out of school, and no friends to play with, thinking of the play yard he used to spend most of his time in, “I miss my school and my family’s field of olive trees, I miss home, and everything”, loneliness that is what was Kasem suffering the most.

Kasem’s father was concerned about his oldest son and added: ” My family went through a long and harsh journey of displacement, I’m worried about my children’s future for being out of school all this time.”

Loneliness and sadness that Kasem was feeling ended when IhsanRD Protection Mobile Team arrived to the camp, where the team launched a series of group activies, and out of nowhere the happiness spreaded among the children, Kasem and his brothers started to play with other kids, they forgot about the displacement at least for a while.

Also, IhsanRD team supported the informal education space in the camp with learning instruments and provided the children with books, bags, and stationery, Kasem and other kids returned back to school.

Kasem’s dream is to have a stable life, returning to the olive trees and their old home, and completing his education to become a teacher at their village school.

With THF support, IhsanRD is implementing a protection response through integrated mobile emergency services in NW Syria, we have managed to reach more than 50,000 IDP’s with different services like rising awareness sessions, psycho-social support, case management, and recreational activities for children.

Learn about the campaign “16 days of activities to combat gender-based violence”

By | Latest News, Protection

Within the Women’s Creativity Centers supported by IhsanRD in the North of Syria, “16 days of activities against gender-based violence” was held during the last couple weeks.
What are the 16 Days of Activism?
The 16 Days of Activism Against Gender-Based Violence is an international campaign, which takes place between November 25 – marking the International Day against Violence against Women and Girls – and December 10 – International Human Rights Day – in order to symbolically link violence against women and human rights and to emphasize, by linking the two anniversary, that violence against women and girls is a violation of human rights.
The 16 Days Campaign has been used as an organizing strategy by individuals and groups around the world to call for the elimination of all forms of violence against women and girls.
This year, the 16 Days of Activism global theme is: “End gender-based violence in the world of work”. However, the Turkey hub GBV SC decided to extend the coverage of the campaign to a more holistic one. In consultation with members of the GBV SC in the field, the GBV SC, therefore, agreed on the contextualized theme: “END GBV IN ALL PLACES: WE ALL HAVE A ROLE”.
What activities took place in 16 days?
– Distribution of awareness brochures on issues of violence against women and girls.
– Presentations and plays aimed at raising awareness about the consequences of domestic violence on all members of the family.
– Promotion of the campaign through home visits through preparing gifts made at the Women’s Creativity Centers, accompanied by a message on gender-based violence and the goal of a 16-day campaign.
– The Family Day: The protection centers opened their doors to community members and families to visit the center and learn more about gender-based violence and to have an opportunity to reflect on the nature of their role in ending gender-based violence.

Parenting Skills Program at the Women’s Creativity Center

By | Latest News, Protection, Success Stories

“After 5 years of suffering with my child’s problem of bedwetting, I lost hope and completely surrendered to this situation and I thought that it’s a genetic problem”

Entesar, a mother of three children, lives with her family in a village near the city of Armnaz.
She heard about the Women’s Creativity Center in Armanaz, supported by IhsanRD, where training sessions were held for women in many domains.
“Even though I live in another village, I visited the center and I learned that a parenting skills program will start soon”
The program is conducted by the Psychosocial Support team and addressing the problems facing children. “I did not know that in this wonderful place I will find the key to my problem. After the trainer presented the problem of involuntary urination, I followed all the steps that she guided me through, so I have learned that there are several reasons for this problem.”
Indeed, her child’s situation improved significantly when Entesar followed the advice she received in the training.
“What helped me the most that I rationally analyzed the reasons of the problem and had a strong determination to help my child in crossing over this challenge. Thank God I finally did it with the help of the trainer who gave my problem a lot of attention”.
In the end, Entesar sent a message to the Syrian mothers:
“We’re the mothers must be strong and have the determination to face the hardships of life”

Women’s Creative Center in northern Syria

By | Latest News, Protection, Videos

“At first we were a little scared of going to the women’s support center, but later we became as one family at the centre… I recommend all the women to come and learn at the center.” – One of the trainees in the sewing class at Women’s Creative Center supported by IhsanRD.

Mobile Protection Teams at IhsanRD respond to IDPs

By | Latest News, Protection

Exposure to psychological stress among IDPs, especially children, may affect them for the rest of their lives.

What Does IhsanRD do about it?

At the reception points of the displaced, in the camps and during the long journey of displacement, thousands of children find themselves in a state of instability or are held in a place where they do not know where they will go after and how the next phase will be and what the unknown fate awaits them, which may affect their psychological stability and development in future.

IhsanRD and through Mobile Protection Teams helps displaced children and adults to overcome the plight of displacement through the provision of psychological support services and management of critical cases and recreational activities for children in addition to awareness sessions for parents and adults.

When the displaced feel this support, it will help to overcome the negative effects associated with the stress experienced by displaced families such as the emergence of unhealthy lifestyles, hostile behavior and psychological situations, whether simple or advanced.

IhsanRD’s mobile protection teams responded to the large waves of displacement that have reached northern Syria recently from Ghouta and northern Homs countryside. After years of besiegement, large numbers of displaced people arrived on an arduous journey that had a profound impact on children and adults. This led to an urgent response by seven mobile teams providing recreational activities for children as well as adult awareness sessions on child protection, gender-based violence and awareness raising of mine risk education. They also provide the first psychological aid to the displaced as soon as they arrive to inform them of their places of reception and the map of services available in the region, and distribute baskets of dignity to women and girls.

In addition to these activities, IhsanRD’s Protection Team provides referral services to the protection centers for children and women within IhsanRD or the centers of other humanitarian organizations, as the case may be.

As protection services for children, women and the most vulnerable are usually linked to other services, IhsanRD coordinates between its various programs to manage situations requiring special assistance through mobile teams providing direct support to vulnerable situations selected according to weaknesses criterias identified in the program.

As part of the emergency response campaign for IDPs, about 28,875 people will benefit from the services provided by IhsanRD’s Mobile Protection Tteams, including 20,200 children.

Protection program at IhsanRD trains the members of mobile teams to be responsible for providing a high quality of services to the beneficiaries, there have been multiple trainings for 53 members of the mobile teams on various topics in child protection, gender-based violence, ERW, Separated children.

IhsanRD also train 75 Ihsan staff members from its various programs sectors on the principles of protection and identification of cases that need coordination with the case management team.

Youth Support Center in Jarablus

By | Protection, Videos

In order to empower young people, help them secure professional qualifications, become socially self-reliant individuals, and to be effectively involved in building their communities, the Youth Support Center in Jarablus opens its doors with funding from KSRelief .